Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
J
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
I bought a boat off Craigslist. It's not much, but if you are any kind of duck hunter, this may be more appealing than it looks.

The boat floats. Doesn't leak.

But it's dry and brittle. Has some small cracks. Really need to step in gingerly. I put a tan lounge in it to check for a lay out, and the metal legs cracked it a bit.

I'd like to fix or improve it's brittle ness.

I was thinking I could just lay down a thicker layer of a semi flexible epoxy resin over what is already there. But nothing in life is that simple.

Can anyone start me off with suggestions on where to start? Can I add a layer of cloth with epoxy resin to the whole thing?

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Last edited by Jesse Jaymes; 07/26/13.

Please God, give me some good tags this year....
GB1

S
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
S
ok this is what I do for a living,pictures are no substitute for touch so the short answer is yes and no.if you only want a short life one layer of light weight cloth will do.if you want it to last there is much more involved.what ever is under the glass (wood,or foam)should be cut out where there is rot(soft spots)and inner material replaced.then you can lay glass,after full preparation,i.e. Sanding every inch down for adhesion,doesn't need to be rough,like 300 grit.laying glass looks easy,but much harder than it appears,flat surface no problem,curves and rolls ,the glass will lift during cure and start off delamanated if you don't work it constantly during set up ,it will have the weave on the surface when cured and have to be filled one or more times to be smooth,pigment can be put in the fill coat,or paint on top but won't last long.you will also add significantly to weight.