Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
L
Landrum Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
L
I'm no expert on Sako rifles, obviously, so I would appreciate some feedback from you guys who are in the know.

Of course, a lot of this is subjective so one man's junk is another's treasure. With that said, which of the Sako models are the most highly prized by rifle enthusiasts? Not necessarily collectors, but guys who hunt with their rifles and care about quality.

I read about "Bofors steel" and "pre-Garcia". Just going off memory, it seems that Garcia began importing the rifles to the States around the early 70s. Some claim that quality fell off for a while after the transition. I haven't a clue if this is true or not.

And when did the recoil lug cease being an actual part of the receiver? Was that all the models after the L61R? And more importantly, does that really matter?

To this day, many rave about the quality of Sako rifles. There are a few, however, who insist that the older models, if in good condition, are the way to go. What do you guys think?

Last edited by Landrum; 12/06/13.
GB1

P
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
P
No experience with the newer ones but I've had a few L and A series (mostly long actions, one medium) and they were all nice. Main gripe I have is the long actioned rifles I had were heavier than I like for standard calibers.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Shrapnel's Sakos.

No explanation necessary.

Originally Posted by captain seafire
I replace valve cover gaskets every 50K, if they don't need them sooner...
D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D