Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 12 13
W
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
W
After the 2013 hunt it became painfully apparent that if I wanted to keep doing this for a few more years [which I do]. Getting in shape would have to be a year round thing. I worked in construction for 45 yrs. that kept me in fairly decent shape for hunting. Now I need an exercise or training program.

I have been going to the gym 6 days a week. Three days strength training 3 days cardio. I have been kind of stumbling my way through it. I was wondering what some of the older guys did to stay in shape? Any good books or good advice? What do you do?

GB1

W
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
W
I don't think there are any deep secrets, or quick ways.
It seems the older I get, the harder, and longer progress comes.

These premises insured by a Sheltie in Training ,--- and Cooey.o
"May the Good Lord take a likin' to you"
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
I may not be in the "older guys" group, but I am also not a real big fan of the gym. (It just bores me to tears). So as part of my early New Year's resolution I got a trainer late last year. Its been a good motivator and more importantly it has kept me going on a regular basis. Even it its only a few sessions they are good at helping you achieve your goals. Was a runner and baseball player when I was younger so the gym was never part of my routine. Its slooowly growing on me.. smile

This article is a good read as well.
http://www.rokslide.com/fitness/265-fitness-to-get-you-over-the-hill-at-any-age

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Set a routine and go - the biggest obstacle to get over.

I was a gym rat for a while, it helps, but I think the biggest help this past year was hiking with a hunting pack 3-5 days a week for at least an hour, more time and distance if I could squeeze it in.