Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
erich Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I picked up an old Drilling in 9.3x72R that was originally a BP cartridge. I'd like to load 200gr. Paper Patched bullets in it but would like to have a clean burning load. I was looking at BMZ or 777, any other suggestions?

After the first shot the rest are just noise.

Make mine a Minaska

Heaven has walls and rules, H-ll has open borders
GB1

erich Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
left to right

375 Win. 35 Whelen 9.3x72R

[Linked Image]

Make mine a Minaska

A
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
A
What limited experience I have had with the BP substitutes, they are NOT cleaner than real BP, in fact they tend to be MORE corrosive than the real deal, thus my limited experience.

While I'm new to the BPCR addiction, I have been shooting BP in muzzle loaders for better than thirty years and have tried just about everything that has come out because I couldn't always get the real deal.

Have you tried chatting with the folks over at bpcr.net?

If I were to look for something more akin to the BP velocities for your rifle, I'd have to look very seriously at Accurate's 5744 powder.

With a case volume nearly identical to the .40-65, albeit a small diameter, I'd start looking at lower charges for that cartridge to get an idea of where to start.

Ed

"Not in an open forum, where truth has less value than opinions, where all opinions are equally welcome regardless of their origins, rationale, inanity, or truth, where opinions are neither of equal value nor decisive." Ken Howell

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by APDDSN0864
What limited experience I have had with the BP substitutes, they are NOT cleaner than real BP, in fact they tend to be MORE corrosive than the real deal, thus my limited experience.