Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
woo....who and i'm just getting into my time slots !!!>>>>>

Organizers on Monday at 5 p.m. hooked up the clock that will determine this year�s winner in Alaska�s richest guessing game.

Now it�s just a matter of time before a winner is decided in the annual lottery that is the 98th Nenana Ice Classic, a uniquely Alaskan contest in which thousands of residents around the state buy tickets to guess the exact date and time the Tanana River ice goes out in Nenana.

The clock is connected by a cable to a wooden tripod anchored in the Tanana River ice about 300 feet from shore. When the ice breaks up and the tripod moves or falls, the cable tightens and stops the clock on shore. The person(s) who guess the correct time will win or share in a jackpot that is expected to be somewhere in the neighborhood of $300,000.

As for when the ice will go out, Ice Classic manager Cherrie Forness said it�s anybody�s guess.

�The ice is pretty rotten now,� she said. �The ice looks thin and there are a few dark spots, so you know it�s rotting.�

The last time officials measured the ice, on April 14, it was still 36 1/2 inches thick, but it was deemed unsafe for another measurement last Thursday and will not be measured again before breakup, Forness said.

The Nenana River, which flows into the Tanana River about one-quarter of a mile downstream of where the tripod stands, has yet to go out but appears to be on the verge of doing so, she said. The Nenana River usually goes out five to seven days before the Tanana River breaks up, Forness said.

Longtime Ice Classic observer and helper Dennis Argall said there have been a couple of times when the Nenana and Tanana rivers went out at the same time, but Forness said that�s never happened in her 18 years at the helm of the event.