Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Rolly Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I had a cynical acquaintance of mine ask why the allies didn't move the invasion of Normandy either up or down the French beach just a few miles and save several thousand lives in order to avoid the Germans that were in place along the beaches where they expected the invasion. I couldn't answer his cynical implications about our uncaring Generals but I thought perhaps a historian on this site could answer this question.

Rolly
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I've wondered too. Kind of reminds me of the warfare of lining up and facing the enemy while firing into each others ranks.

LOL
J
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
J
I'm not an expert, but the entire coast of France was fortified. The Germans, thanks to a long term deception program, fully expected the invasion at Calais. In fact they kept most of their reserves in that area for over 24 hours as they considered Normandy a diversion and not the real invasion.

There are only a handful of places where it could have been done. Normandy was one of the more lightly defended areas. At least with intelligence available at the time. Looking back 70 years later, with the information we have today, another spot might have been better. But they didn't have a crystal ball.

Most people don't really want the truth.

They just want constant reassurance that what they believe is the truth.
A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Originally Posted by JMR40
But they didn't have a crystal ball.

I sure wish they had known that those big guns were not at Point du Hoc as they had thought. Would have saved a 100 or so brave Rangers who took those cliffs for nothing.

I
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I