Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
G
gremcat Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G
Looking at a few different opportunities here and my wife also said she would consider AK. I have been begging since we last visited. I am a Manufacturing Ops Manager in a Next Gen Solar Pilot with experience in the kitchen and bath industry and paper mills. My wife is a Plant Biologist who is thinking of getting into teaching. I could contact a head hunter but I am not sure there are any in AK. I have read that there is a need for teachers in AK. I guess I could be a professional schlepp and hang out in the woods all the time but not sure that would pay the bills:)

BP-B2

R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
Ak is a wonderful place. Lots of job ops there. You may not find anything in your specialty but I would flip burgers if it paid enough just to live there

G
gremcat Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G
Not even sure which area to look yet. Just getting started. I have read that they need teachers pretty bad in some of the more remote areas. My wife should be able to find something but I have a Manufacturing background so might not be a lot there for me.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
It's tough breaking into a new field, some how I managed to get hired on to a small fire protection company even though my background was in manufacturing.

There are some head hunters in the oil and gas industry, but typically they are looking for people with extensive experience in the industry. You might want to contact some of the firms that provide contractors such as Taylor Technical. I think in the next year or two there is going to be an upswing in engineering and when their is a boom cycle it's much easier to get hired when you don't have years of experience in the oil industry.