Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#9044968 07/23/14
N
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
N
I figured I would start this thread to document the evolution of what I decided was my new long range everything rifle. Much thanks to MontanaMarine for all of his help and insight.

History:
I grew up shooting a 338 win. My dad said that was the minimum for elk and if I wanted to shoot an elk, I should use the 338. In retrospect, he was definitely f*cking with me. He used a 7mm Rem for everything and had shot quite a few elk. Anyway, recently I started shooting again and slowly came to the conclusion that I could not survive putting the number of rounds down range that I really should to maintain the competency level I required. This meant that even though I loved my Tikka 695, it would have to go and be replaced by something I could shoot that much.

Rifle:
I already had a Tikka T3 in .243 and a DRW .260 built on a T3 action, so the action type and cartride family was pretty much determined from the onset. I had also talked to MM about the viability of the 208 A-max in the 308. So based on all of this, I bought a new synthetic/stainless T3 in 308 and added a SWFA 3-9 in Talley lows.

Problems:
I wanted a relatively light rifle (the 695 was over 9 lbs) and something I would feel comfortable shooting and hunting with. The Tikka T3 was good on most fronts, but there was some room for improvement.

First, I needed to address the height of the scope. The tupperware stock that came with the Tikka did not get my head up enough to effectively shoot from the prone position. To cure that problem, I blatantly ripped off 16Bore and machined the Talleys so I had 0.100" clearance. This brought the scope down to the perfect height for me in prone.
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Second, I replaced the recoil pad (limbsaver) and the bolt shroud (tikkaperformance). I am on the fence about getting a tactical bolt knob for it and will probably decide that when I have spent more time shooting it.