Print Thread
Hop To
G
gremcat Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G
Trying to plan a moose trip and need a pack for carrying gear and hopefully bringing back a moose. Any recommendations? I am a beginner at backpack hunting so I am hoping to get something I can use until I figure out what I like or don't. Something off the shelf vs. custom I guess is what I am trying to say.

GB1

N
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
N
First I will add a caveat. I used to think backpack hunting meant that you loaded your house (including the sink) into the biggest backpack you could find and hiked for a couple of hours before collapsing in exhaustion. Where-ever you happened to fall over was your new campsite. If you had found a big enough backpack, it made a nice tent for the night while you recovered enough energy to get it off of you and unpack. There was also the added benefit of bear protection while laying under the pack, the average Grizzly would have exerted too much energy to get the pack off of you that they would end up burning more calories then you would provide.

But I digress. The point of the caveat is that I was used to carrying way more weight than I needed. Last year I hunted with a pack that was full up 40 lbs. This is significantly less than I had tried to do in the past and it worked out well. I bought a used MR 6500 from a friend and used that. It was very stout and sturdy and comfortable.

I know there are lighter packs out there, but I am not trying to go as light as possible. I think this pack is about as durable as they get and worked well for me. It is what I would recommend to someone who isn't really trying to go ultra-lite, but wants a quality pack.

http://www.mysteryranch.com/hunting/hunting-expedition-packs/nice-6500-pack

J.A.F.O.

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S