Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
jcolby Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I am fairly new to traditional archery and am curious what has worked best for sharpening broadheads for fellow campfire members. I currently am using 2 blade Zwickey Eskimos.

Jared
GB1

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Call Ron @ http://www.kmesharp.com/ Ron's a great guy and will set you up with the equipment needed to get them scary sharp. The challenge with the Eskimos is they have a convex blade shape so it takes a little technique to get them real sharp the whole length of the blade.

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
Zwickey's are pretty frustrating to sharpen because the steel is so damn hard. I switched to Bear Razorheads mostly because they're really easy to sharpen.

Good luck.

T
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
T
Originally Posted by Ghostinthemachine
Zwickey's are pretty frustrating to sharpen because the steel is so damn hard. I switched to Bear Razorheads mostly because they're really easy to sharpen.

Good luck.

I've never tried the zwickeys but I also use the bear razors. I must have 80 of them. Many never been shot. When folks started "dumping" them for the latest and greatest, I grabbed up all I could. Most of em for free! I will never have a need to buy or use any other broadhead.

I just carry a small stone with me if I need to touch them up. I have literally cleaned squirrels and gutted fish with the bear razorheads.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
KME is great by pricey. Hard to beat that rada wheelie sharpener for the price.

IC B2

D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
I have not sharpened Zwicky BHs but have sharpened many other fixed heads with a Lansky sharpener. These days I shoot slick tricks and Magnus heads and every one gets a Lansky sharpening before being used. They are extremely sharp off the Lanky.
I shot a lot of Bear Razor heads in the day and it worked well on them also.

NRA Patron
R