Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
It's been rather slow around here, so I figured a good old chat about Blue Dot loads would bring out all the opinionated varmit huntin sons o'bitches. Heck, we might even hear from someone who's got experience in the matter. wink

So what's your most favorite bullet for down loading in the .223?

I've been shooting the 63 grain Sierra with a max charge of Trailboss and that one thumps pretty good but it's getting a scosh loud. Shot some 53 Vmax today with 4 grains of Blue Dot. Wasn't giving up much to the 63 Sierra. A little quieter too. If you were gonna go shoot pests on the sneak so as not to bother the neighbors, which bullet and why?

Screw you! I'm voting for Trump again!

Ecc 10:2
The heart of the wise inclines to the right, but that of a fool to the 24HCF.
GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
I've never tried this Blue Dot stuff, so I have no experience with it...

however... if I did, I'd probably reach for the 40 grain Nosler Varmageddon bullets, the ones with the tip.. I'd do so, because they are cheap and that is why I have over 2,000 of them sitting around, waiting for the Spring 2015 varmint season.....

it opens up well on varmints, even at slow speeds...

but I have to question anyone's sanity of using a ShotGun or Pistol powder in a rifle cartridge..... as they told Ralphie: "you'll put your eye out kid..." whistle

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
What's Blue Dot? frown

Sometimes, the air you 'let in'matters less than the air you 'let out'.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Seafire

however... if I did, I'd probably reach for the 40 grain Nosler Varmageddon bullets, the ones with the tip.. I'd do so, because they are cheap and that is why I have over 2,000 of them sitting around, waiting for the Spring 2015 varmint season.....