Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
SandRat Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
S
Does anybody here have any experience with both the Nosler Accubond and the Partition in 250gr .338 caliber ? I get unreal accuracy from the Accubonds, along with a 440yd one shot kill on a decent sized bull moose. Bullet shed a bit of weight, but held together. High tundra hunt.
In 2015, going for a new hunting area, North of the Yukon River. The grizzly bears are thick in this area. May take a moose or caribou long range, but a good chance Mr. or Mrs. Grizz may come into our butchering. As an AK Resident, I can take two, but, wonder if the 250gr Partition might be a better choice for a hungry Grizz at close range ? Keeping in mind a large Grizz is 650lbs in the interior of AK.

Enlisted Men are Stupid, but Extremely Sly and Cunning, and bear Considerable Watching.

US Army Officers Manual of 1894
GB1

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Are you going to take two different loads with you, one for long range moose or caribou and one for Grizz ????

Dont know what 338 you are shooting but if it were me, my first choice is the 300grSMK (will take down anything close or far) my second choice would be the Accubond. the partition is still a great bullet but would never consider it a long range option.

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
The Partition will kill fine at 400-500 yards,and likely penetrate the grizzly stem to stern.

Last edited by BobinNH; 12/17/14.

The 280 Remington is overbore.

The 7 Rem Mag is over bore.
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
I would feel a hell of a lot better w/a 250 Partition up the spout than a 300 gr match King up close and personal with any bear. I want broken bones and a big hole out the other side.- Muddy

J
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Sleepy
Campfire 'Bwana
J

225 grain TTSX perfect for both scenarios.

I got banned on another web site for a debate that happened on this site. That's a first
IC B2

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content