Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
A
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
A
Originally Posted by From TF49
I like the idea of going into oil stocks now for a 1-3 year hold. Chevron is a better buy now than it was a month ago when it was 11% or so higher. Pays a 4% dividend as well.

I like your general idea. I don't think oil's bottomed quite yet, but it's creating a nice opportunity.

You didn't use logic or reason to get into this opinion, I cannot use logic or reason to get you out of it.

You cannot over estimate the unimportance of nearly everything. John Maxwell
GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I've been buying XOM at $100 per month through a DRIP for over 35 years and have accumulated a nice position in oil as a result.

I agree that now is the time to be buying oil and the drillers.

Also been buying HSY and have been doing quite well with chocolate of all things.

Beware of thieves, scammers and dishonest members on the "Fire" classifieds. Ya there is a thief here too. Whatever!!

They're all around the CampFire and everywhere.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by MissouriEd
Recall a member on here about 5-6 years ago. Talked his parents into putting their life savings of over $100k into gold at over $1800 an ounce. It's currently $1195. Gold pays no interest, no dividends and is difficult to sell. Looks like he screwed his parents and his inheritance.

I invest in stocks and average 12% for the past 30 years. No gold or silver for me.

If so, that would make you one of the world's great money managers!

C
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
C
No interest in gold/silver here. Am currently expanding my position in oil/gas stocks. I could care less if I catch the bottom.

Scored good on Kinder Morgan Partners this last year. They just restructured and gave me shares of KMI and cash in exchange for my shares. Really no interest in selling, and I'll let my investment ride for a few decades to see what they can make happen.