Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
irfubar Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I am curious, what makes a one custom knife better than another, or a factory knife for that matter?

Is it a matter of style? craftsmanship? or do certain makers have the formula down for the proper temper, edge holding ability, ease of sharpening etc...

Originally Posted by Judman
PS, if you think Trump is “good” you’re way stupider than I thought! Haha

Sorry, trump is a no tax payin pile of shiit.
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger

Last edited by FieldGrade; 12/19/14.
irfubar Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Fieldgrade,
Those are very nice knives. I hope I don't offend anyone with my question.
I am a noob when it comes to custom knives. I have one custom made to my specs years ago and it has been a great knife. Seems to hold an edge better than any factory knife I own.
Lately I have taken a keen interest in knives and want to learn more.
Thanks for sharing.

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Heat treat, materials, and attention to details. Of course there could be a longer more drawn out answer but these cover the basics to your question.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Originally Posted by irfubar
I am curious, what makes a one custom knife better than another, or a factory knife for that matter?

Is it a matter of style? craftsmanship? or do certain makers have the formula down for the proper temper, edge holding ability, ease of sharpening etc...

Lots of things!

Assuming proper heat treat and temper for the steel chosen being equal (which is a quality control issue, not a custom issue).