Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
G
Just purchased a Canon T5i kit with their 18-55mm IS lens. I'm completely new to the DSLR game and am wondering what you guys consider to be essentials? If I eventually decide to get a "bigger" lens, what do you suggest? Looks like the next step up is a 55-250mm.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Might get a bit more feedback if one elaborates on what he might want to do. People, sports, wildlife, etc.

I have a 55-250 mm and am not overly impressed with it. I just don't see great resolution on the high end. My wife, Cookie, regularly packs a Canon 100-400. A very handy wildlife lens in that one can often get by hand holding.

Last edited by 1minute; 01/12/15.

1Minute
G
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
G
People, wildlife, birds, landscape, bridges, lighthouses, boats, sunrises/sunsets, flora and fauna along the coast here in Oregon.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Circular polarizer for the lens, good for cutting reflections for forest and water, but will unevenly polarize the sky on wide angle shots.
Tripod and head.
Tamron 150-600 for feather and fur. Canon just announced a new 100-400 also. But if you'd spend $2200 on the new Canon100-400, there is the new Sigma 150-600 Sport for $2k that is reportedly sharper and heavier than the $1k Tamron
Extra battery.

Last edited by RedRabbit; 01/12/15. Reason: added Sigma info.
G
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
G
Uh, yeah, won't be spending $1k -$2k on any lenses, but thanks. Only paid $450.00 for the kit.

IC B2

O
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
O
Then don't expect much. Nothing invested, nothing gained.

That said, I'd buy a 55-250 IS lens, from Canon--they're inexpensive and pretty darn good-- and a good monitor--so you can competently evaluate your pictures--for your computer then I'd go out and shoot. After a few months ask yourself if your equipment is holding you back, then go from there.