Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
B
OP Offline
B
Hey so I am new, 1st post new. Not new to hunting, but I am new to Elk Hunting. I have several units I am looking at for OTC right now, units 74,65 and 63 in 1st preference order. A little a bit about myself, I am a fire fighter and work out most of my time. I have kids so they are a work out on its own as well, I love camping and mostly hunting. I watch my buddy bring back an elk from colorado and spent less than 1k total which blew me away. I have hunted whitetail and the prices here in Texas are just out of this world. I am thinking about unit 74, due to the statistics it has the highest success rate out of all of em. I know its my first hunt so Im not expecting anything at all except for a sweet camping trip but I do want an opportunity to connect with something. I want to stay in Miners Camp Ground and go east to Silver Mountain, my buddy connected at 54 but wants to try 74 as well so he will come with me. Together we have gear, guns, glass and stamina (I know will be tested but were ready. What do yall think about this idea?

Last edited by ballfroguy; 03/22/15.
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Elk hunting is like a drug, once started you will never want to stop.
If you fail to heed this warning, you will find yourself addicted and most likely you will pass the addiction on to your kids.
You have been warned grin , so I can only wish you luck.

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
Where there is a will, wisdom will find a way. Sounds to me you are doing your home work. You have a buddy that has already ,been there and done that. There are guys on here that know the areas and will probably give you some pointers. Hope it all works out for you. Good luck.

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
Originally Posted by ballfroguy
What do yall think about this idea?

They don't come any better.

A wise man is frequently humbled.

B
OP Offline
B