Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#9810054 04/25/15
nhFrank Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I am just getting into a new casting chapter of loading and would like to know what would the best bullet lube sizer

BP-B2

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Most any of them will work. The Lyman & RCBS are both very good. If you're looking for speed & bulk consider the Magma Star or if you really want heavy duty check out Ballisti-Cast. Personally I use a Star.
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

nhFrank Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thank you Creeker just starting out and don't what to cheep out or go over kill

Last edited by nhFrank; 04/25/15.
C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
What you going to size? Rifle with GC,pistol, a few or going to keep the Clan in plinkers . Clint

just for Fun
nhFrank Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Mostly rifle 45-70 .44 mag and maybe some .30 Cal with gas checks just a new chapter in my life of hunting and shooting

IC B2

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
I use a Star where I can and Lyman for everything else.

Notice the Star is not a good choice for seating gas checks and Star/Magma/specialty from folks at castboolits dies with top punches are usually more expensive.

Most people today use harder alloys - and harder lubes - than folks once did and the machines with heaters have been sturdier in recent years - a major consideration in buying used.

The investment in sizing dies and top punches will likely over time become a large part of the total cost of ownership. That might be a major consideration going in. Mostly even though the Star is the best on the market don't expect it to be the best choice for gas checked rifle bullets.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Creeker