Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
I just got a 1A in .222. The round count is still just under thirty, so I know the jury is still out as to whether the following observation will hold true, but it appears to have a slight forend pressure issue. The rifle strings vertically with the bags under the middle/front of the forend, but I moved the bags back to the receiver/rear of the forend and got sub 3/8" groups.

I know the barrel isn't fully broken in yet, and I've tried only 1 powder/bullet with a couple different charge weights.

My question is, if this holds true, what forend mod should I start with?

I have a K1a in 257 rob that's a lights-out shooter, and the previous owner had a glass pad installed under the barrel. I've heard about the hanger tweaks, I just wanted to get a feel of where you guys might start.

Thanks!
Jonathan

GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Jonathan
Just my two cents here, but I studied input from those with experience and knowledge of such matters. I currently have a #1 and #3 that have responded well to the three mods listed below.

From the factory they may/may not shoot some great groups, and the poi may move from session to session depending on environment, etc.
So, to improve groups and keep them going same place over time....

-Relieve the for-end wood from touching the action.
-Remove pressure point wood at front end and replace with enough bedding to center the barrel snug in the channel.
-Add a hard shim snuggly fitted between the hanger and barrel.

These mods are currently working great for me.
Tim

"The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them."
Albert Einstein

At Khe Sanh a sign read "For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected never knew".
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Any No. 1 that shoots less than 3/8" without any modifications would be left alone if it belonged to me!