Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
erikj Online Content OP
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
I have cabin near Anchor Pt. Neighbors have good water, but I have little experience for DIY. Found a contractor in the area but was wondering if anyone has been down this road recently.

@jameslavish

If you work 40 hrs/wk: at 5% inflation and after 5 years, you need a 28% pay raise or to work 44 more hours (*one full extra week* per month+) to make up the difference.

This is inflation
BP-B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
M
You say your neighbors have good water. How deep is their well? How many gallons per minute does it make? What is the static water level? At what depth do they have the pump set?

Your title refers to a shallow well. Be advised if your well is too shallow your just drinking water ever is on the ground. Ideally you want to be at least below the first clay layer and into water below that level. That can be fairly shallow in some areas and considerably deeper in others.

If you plan on a shallow well that is essentially giving you surface water, you need to consider a water filtration system or at least frequent water tests.

One thing to consider if you are not using the cabin year round is to put in a tank and haul water. Not as convenient as a well but for the price of having well drilled, casing, pump, pump pipe, and running pipe to the cabin you might be money ahead to haul water.

Chronographs, bore scopes and pattern boards have broke a lot of hearts.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I agree with Mart, but I'll add that a shallow well can be worth it just to have non potable water. Then you only have to haul drinking water which is minimal.