-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I originally had posted part of this in the Elk forum under first rifles but decided it needed its own thread.

My first rifle was a Ruger 77 mkII boat paddle in 270. It was a great rifle and served me well until i "knew" i needed bigger and better. Fast forward about 7 years and i bought a replacement boat paddle in 7mm-08. It absolutely loves the 120 TTSX and 140 Accubonds but i have never been drawn to it and thus never hunted it.

2 years ago my hunting buddy put his 10yo through Hunters Ed. He is a sheetrocker by trade and was laid off so money was tough. He asked if i had a cheap hunting rifle for his son to buy. I told him about the 7mm-08, that it wasnt for sale but his son could use it as long as he wanted/needed.

Opening day of 2012 found us all sitting a long ridge watching the sun come up. Lots of deer were spotted but nothing came within our self imposed 250yd range for him. About 10 A.M. we headed down the hill for the truck and lunch. On our way down we kicked out a few small bucks that were under the 3 point minimum and several mulie does (no bueno without a permit). About 1/2 mile from the truck my buddies kid stops and says "deer". About 125yds away he found a fat whitetail doe bedded under a tree. In our area due to over crowding whitetail does are fair game for youths and seniors on their buck tag.

Knowing it was his first hunt and how excited he was his dad gave him the green light. Damn if either of us were going to tell a kid what to do with their tag.

Due to the steep angle of the hill he couldn't see her while sitting down to shoot and there was nothing to use as a rest. A quick plan was formed to have his dad put him on his lap for height. I leveled my spotting scope in front of him with his jacket for padding as a rest. The doe finally had enough of us and stood broadside.