Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
P
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
P
You may find this helpful. I have no experience with them, but plan to order one of these:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/77...nd-steel-parkerized?cm_vc=ProductFinding

It's an adjustable gas plug which allows tuning so that you can safely shoot regular ammo in your M1. I plan to get one for a couple of my M1s in order to simplify my '06 reloading and be able to use the same 180 grain load in multiple rifles.

BP-B2

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I wouldn't feel handicapped at all using a MI Garand to hunt deer other than packing it around . Good 165 gr bullet and IMR 4895 should work well.

A Doe walks out of the woods today and says, that is the last time I'm going to do that for Two Bucks.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by pabucktail
You may find this helpful. I have no experience with them, but plan to order one of these:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/77...nd-steel-parkerized?cm_vc=ProductFinding

It's an adjustable gas plug which allows tuning so that you can safely shoot regular ammo in your M1. I plan to get one for a couple of my M1s in order to simplify my '06 reloading and be able to use the same 180 grain load in multiple rifles.

I like this plug mo' better.

http://www.garandgear.com/m1-garand-ammunition

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M1 Garand makes a great dear rifle, as long as you can put up with the weight. My #2 son shot my Garand for several years, and killed a lot of whitetails.

[Linked Image]

My recipe for the Garand was H4895 under a 150 grain Hornady SP. The Garand is fairly easy to load for. The trick is to stay away from very slow powders and very big bullets. Staying to the middle of the road will keep the op rod from bending.