Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
S
I was blessed to have received a fly rod & reel setup and a certificate for a guided trip from my BIL for Christmas. He got me a Sage VXP 4 wt. Rod with a Reddington Rise reel along with a trip through Kirk's fly fishing shop in Estes Park, CO. I reside in the NW Houston area and want to get in some practice before I get back up to Estes to utilize this trip. I have access to my neighborhood bass & crappie pond but the walking path surrounding it doesn't bode well for backcasting. I have never used a fly rod aside from the 5 minutes spent at lunch today casting in my backyard. I watched a Lefty Krehl video online last night and tried to impart the techniques I recalled from the video and didn't find it overly difficult so far.

All that being said, what are some pointers for an absolute beginner from casting to must have equipment? I am a blank slate at this point and am excited to learn a new hobby.

Thanks,

Strosfann

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Pointers #1-324-- find a local flyfishing club. The members there will be overflowingly helpful in filling your every need.

Campfire Pistolero x2

Only one human captain has ever survived battle with a Minbari fleet. He is behind me. You are in front of me. If you value your lives, be somewhere else. -Ambassador Delenn, Babylon 5
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
A polite approach, introduction, and request for help from near any silverhaired stream side fisherman will usually genereate a positive experience too.

An admitted schooling day with a reputable guide is also money well spent.

Good luck out there,

Last edited by 1minute; 01/10/13.

1Minute
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular