Print Thread
Hop To
T
TATELAW Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
Hey guys. I'm new to reloading and already had my first mishap.

While waiting on my friend who does a lot of reloading to come over and help get me started, I thought I could at least de-primer and resize some brass to get it ready. I had bought a large lot of 1x fired 300wm brass here on the fire.

I put the resizing die into the press and adjusted it to where it just touched the shellholder with the handle fully down, got out the case lube, and started resizing. All went well, did quite a few, then went to bed. Went back out today to do a few more and the very first case would not go in. Removed the die and checked inside and saw the primer remover(not sure of the technical term) was bent to the side. Tried to bend it back straight and it broke off.
[Linked Image]

What did I do wrong and how do I make sure this doesn't happen again? Thanks in advance for helping out a new guy.

Also, can I order just this broken part or do I have to buy a new die?

Those who must raise their voice to get their point across are generally not intelligent enough to do so in any other way.
GB1

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
Not sure what happened to cause that. I personally have not had anything like that happen (at least not till next time I reload LOL). The part that is broke is the decaping rod. If it is RCBS then I would call them up. They have great customer service and they will probably send you a new one free of charge. If you cant wait and need to load shells right away they are available at just about any sporting goods that handles reloading supplies.

Steak, It's my favorite vegetable!
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
How far below the bottom of the die did the decapping pin extend? Any of the cases have off-center flash holes?

T
TATELAW Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T