-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
The other day I realized that the early Ruger rimfire pistols were now C&R-able, so long story short, I found a nice seller on Gunbroker and a 1953-vintage Mk I is coming to me this week.

I'm totally new to these things, what should I know before I open the box?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Fushigi -"what should I know before i open the box" ? Easy - get to 'enjoy' the frustration you will feel when trying to RE-assemble the beast. Fitting the take down lever back into the upper receiver is a lesson in dexterity (and humility). You will learn to 'cus until such time as the planets align and the lever closes shut. Otherwise, look for the kits that eliminate all this and buy one...no more trips to the gunsmith with the parts in a paper bag LOL. I've a 5.5" HB Mk 1 and it's a dandy. Regards, Homesteader.

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
Go to the Ruger website and watch the videos. Buy Iowegans BOK. You can get them on
http://rugerforum.net/miscellaneous/26246-new-iowegan-gun-guides.html
These are really fun guns. They are not really that hard to take apart and put together. Watch the video on the Ruger website. It takes the mystery out of it. Get yourself a big paper clip to pull the backspring.
Buy a bunch of different 22 ammo and find the one it likes the best. Then load up on them. So far, mine likes a number of Winchester loads best. But I'm not that great of a shot, so maybe someone who is steadier and has good eye hand coordination would find something better.
I have not found a standard or high speed load that fails to function consistently. Never had a fail to feed or stove pipe. If it does, it probably needs cleaned and lubricated.
The only drawback is the bottom mag release. That takes a bit of getting used to.
Find a bunch of extra Ruger mags. I am not a fan of aftermarket mags in any of my rugers.