24hourcampfire.com
24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
nevets Offline OP
OP Offline
Hey Guys! Im pretty new to this sight but decided i would post up on a little project. I got the itch to do a little project with grandpa's Texan. As soon as it was passed down to me i slapped a 3-9x40 Nikon Prostaff on it, Ran a box of ammo through it and called it good. I carried it in the woods a few times but never had a shooter walk my way while it was in my hands.

Now the idea of a scout rifle has been floating around in my head for a little while ever since i first saw some pics on the marlinowners sight of some lever gun scouts. I actually went and bought me bolt action .308 for a platform for my scout. During a lot of thinking on how i was going to go about it since there are no bolt on parts for it i kept looking over at that ol' Texan 336 sitting in the gun rack... so a few days ago i sold that .308 for a little bit of a profit and immediately went home to order some parts for my 336.

So in the mail, I currently have a Skinner Tactical Winged Sight, Skinner taller front post, a XS Scout rail, Quick Detach scope rings and a BSA 2x20 EER scope on the way. I know the scope isn't the best but i don't have the money to get a higher quality one at the moment and for $40 i figured it would last me till i get a nicer one. I pulled the Prostaff and base off of the Marlin and will be putting it on the ought six, and the scope off the ought six on a air rifle. Three Birds with one stone!!! Also interested in the Wild West Guns Trigger Happy Kit. Would really like to lighten the trigger up a little but it isnt horrible right now. Anything else i should consider while i am breaking the bank on this project?

Hoping the Skinner sights make it here by Saturday, the other stuff just shipped today so i will start looking for it next week. Really looking forward to this build so follow along as i make this gun something cool.