Print Thread
Hop To
J
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
Anyone ever hunted them?

I'm new to waterfowl hunting in general. Got into it last year and when i was hunting south of Albuqerque in the Rio i seen THOUSANDS of sandhills. Well, i applied for one of the 200 or so tags for the 2 day mini seasons and I found out yesterday that I got one.

Anyone have any input? All that I have heard is that they are the best tasting bird you will ever eat.

What ammo are you using? What choke? All i have is a 870 i bought last year for the sole purpose of duck hunting. I wasnt going to shoot steel shot threw my by Browning GTI trap gun!

Any input is appreciated!

Thanks
Jon

Lifetime member: Backcountry Hunters and Anglers & Wild Sheep Foundation
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Although this year was poor crane hunting because of storms, I usually take several every fall.

Our fall waterfowl are only OK table fare as they haven't been into the grain fields yet and need a few more weeks to fill out nicely. The cranes are at least as good as our ducks and geese. You may want to use a slow-cooker for the old ones as they can be tough.

I shoot steel shot [#2-T} through a Patternmaster choke tube depending on if pass shooting or over decoys. Your 870 will work just fine.

Don't put your dog on cripples as they will try to peck the eyes out of the dog! They are ornery buggers! I've watched coyotes try to get cripples after season and the bird kept em away.

J
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
I'll be sky blasting them. Had them fly over the duck spread hundreds of times, but they've never landed in our spread.

Thanks for the input Vern

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
When I hunted them a few times down in Colorado I just used what you would use for geese.