Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
30338 Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Who makes the best remote bird launchers out there? Need to get 1 or 2 for training my pup. Thanks

GB1

W
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
W
I've been using a DT Systems remote trainer for a couple years now. It was a present and I did not have high expectations for it. Fortunately, I have been pleasantly surprised as it seems to be of decent quality. I am not positive as to how water resistant they are as I wait until the grass is dry before using them. I started with homemade release traps which were not waterproof at all and how I used them is how I use the DT units.

I have three traps which I use several times a day most days over the spring and summer. I not only use them for releasing birds but I also use them to toss retrieving dummies to get the dogs to push out further when sent to retrieve. This with both retrievers and pointing dogs. I find them to be very helpful for these tasks.

The negatives I have aren't many. The worst is the transmitter can handle 15 units which means there is little separation between the marks. This makes it difficult to know if you are on the correct setting. The other biggie is the traps are kind of heavy and ackward to carry for longer distances. That is common for all of the units I've been around and not specific to this brand.

One other gripe is arming the trap. The traps I have need to have a button pushed and held to arm. Catch is, not hold the button long enough and the trap does not arm- push too long and it goes back on Safe. It is not a terrible issue but it does catch me at times.

I've used other brands and they seem to be about the same quality. I would suggest sticking with the better known brands to start.

N
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
N