Home
Posted By: QwackerWacker Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
I'm new to the AR platform and was wondering what is the cleanest burning powder for 223 with 55gr pills
Posted By: ColdBore Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
Cleanest? I don't know for sure, but I know that I'd shoot Varget all day in mine and it looked just fine.
Posted By: Rancho_Loco Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
TAC. Very accurate and clean at the top end, and has worked very well in all of my .223 Rem rifles.
Posted By: Earl48 Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
CFE223 is very clean.
Posted By: Mule Deer Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
Another vote for TAC. Varget is pretty good as well. I haven't tried CFE223 or AR Comp yet, but am going to soon.
Posted By: HalH Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
Tac is also a very stable powder , temperature wise.

Hal
Thank's! I've got a little varget so I'll try that first.
Posted By: Ole_270 Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
I run TAC and Benchmark in the 223. For me, Benchmark seems a little cleaner and slightly more accurate in my guns with 50 gr. V-Maxs and TNTs
Posted By: High_Brass Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/19/12
While not in an AR, I've shot TAC in 223, 300 Savage, and 308 and it is damn clean burning.
Posted By: Burleyboy Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/20/12
I'm not sure if it's the cleanest but I like benchmark.

Bb
Posted By: BarryC Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/20/12
You are going to get different opinions on this, I know. But for me, Varget has been extremely clean. Two patches after an 80 shot match is all it takes. TAC, on the other hand, has been one of the filthiest powders I have ever seen, it's like sludge.
Posted By: bowfisher Re: Cleanest powder for AR - 04/20/12