Home
These 2 seem to be really close in features and weight, length, power, ect.
So why would someone drop the extra $200?
Because some folks don't might paying a little more $$ for slightly better optics?

It seems to me that in many categories of "things", gaining the last 4% of performance, from 95% to 99%, increases the cost exponentially for each percent of improvement. In the Leupold line, I wonder what series has the biggest jump in measurable performance over the previous/lower series?

Rifleman to VX-1?
VX-1 to VX-2?
VX-2 to VX-3?
VX3 to ???
??? to ???
The current VX-2 is in the sweet spot.
Originally Posted by mathman

That was my thought, but since I'm not an optic expert, I thought that I'd throw it out there for discussion.
I don't know if it's the best per model line increment, not having much experience with newer examples of the lowest lines. But performance per dollar wise it's really good.

Good clarity, reasonable weight, good eye relief, easy to mount on a variety of rifles.

I do like the 3.5-10x40 better, but I don't find it easy to tell someone to spend the extra money.
In 2012 Leupold upgraded the entire VX line of scopes. Current VX-1's are essentially the same as an older VX-2. Current VX-2's are very comparable to an older VX-3. The VX-3's were improved too, but I can't see spending more than the cost of a VX-2.

FWIW I have a couple of the 3-9X40 VX-2's of recent production. They are a BETTER scope than a couple of 2.5-8X36 VX-3's that were made in 2007.
Current VX-1s are essentially the previous VX-IIs?

That damned Roman Numeral vs. Arabic Numeral things raises its ugly head yet again.
Agree with what has been said on both the VX3 and VX2. I do like the locking eyepiece better on the VX3. Whether it's worth the dinero or not is up to the buyer.
Originally Posted by 260Remguy
Originally Posted by mathman

That was my thought, but since I'm not an optic expert, I thought that I'd throw it out there for discussion.