Home
I have been looking hard at UTVs. I would getting one mainly as a work machine for where I can't get a tractor or truck. I am willing to shell out the cash, but I want it to last many, many years. I probably won't put has many hours on annual basis as many.

This raises the question of diesel vs gas. I have no experience with diesel except a tractor my late father bought used more than 40 years ago. We do have a diesel tank on the farm. The diesel cost a little more up front. They don't have electric power steering. Not sure how much of a benefit that is anyway or if it's just one more thing that can brake. Feedback much appreciated.

I bought a Polaris ranger last year (2014 model ) and have enjoyed it. Wished I would have gotten on sooner.

Selling point for me on the ranger was the bench seat that 3 grown men can ride, comes in handy hunting. Towing and hauling is good on these also.

Mind doesn't have power steering, I see no use for it. Something electronic to tear up.

The fuel injection models are sensitive to voltage. The older models had an atv battery that would run down easy when using extra lights, etc and would kill the utv.

The newer models have a car battery, I put a hole in battery of mine and went to SAMs bought a AGM battery to replace it.

A friend has a diesel Kubota utv on his farm. Saying it's a POS is an understatement.
Interesting Bearcat, I thought Kubota was a pretty good brand as far as conventional tractors go not that that should make them a good utv maker I guess but you'd think they'd have figured it out better than what your friend experiences..
You won't regret buying a "good" UTV. I've had quads and bikes my whole life, got into a Ranger about 10-11 years ago and never looked back. Owned 5-6 since. I'll take a UTV over a quad ANY day of the week.