Home
And I almost walked right into it!!

[img:left][Linked Image][/img]

Anyone know what kind it is? I'm no spider expert but I know it's not poisonous so I let it be. Can someone help me with the zigzag pattern in the middle of the web?!?
Orb weaver? I hate spiders sick ; most are harmless though.
First thought was a brown recluse - AKA "fiddleback" - but NOT.
We always called them cotton spiders. Don't know what they're really called
Garden Spider...no problemo.
The black and yellow is sure purdy but that sucker and a twin about 2 feet away ain't little.
I think it's an Orb-weaver spider. Some think the stuff in the middle is to warn birds so they don't destroy the web.
Had one at an old house near Dallas. I thought it was kinda pretty, so I started feeding it a grasshopper a day, by tossing them into its web. I swear it doubled in size, in a week grin
Originally Posted by ingwe
Garden Spider...no problemo.

This. We had a beast of one when we walked my youngest to elementary school when we lived in Kingwood, NE of Houston. It was there for the seasaon.
Originally Posted by stomatador
I think it's an Orb-weaver spider. Some think the stuff in the middle is to warn birds so they don't destroy the web.

Makes sense. Thanks
great spider. makes some very cool webs. amazing to watch him build his web
They're around my house every late summer/early fall. Their webs catch wasps looking to hide under the eaves for the winter so I leave them alone.
Garden spider. When I was a kid I would throw grasshoppers in their webs and watch them wrap those hoppers up in a hurry.
Had bunches of them at our place in east Texas out back at, you guessed it, the barn. I almost walked into them several times as well since they often spun their web over the entrances. They had lots of company provided by mud dobbers, wasps and all manner of various and sundry creatures.
DEAD, with great malice!
banana spider

[Linked Image]
Originally Posted by gonehuntin