Home
Posted By: kcnboise Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/22/14
I'm starting the search for a new backcountry hunting sleeping bag. I've been using a Western Mountaineering�bag for about 10 years. I want a 20 degree down bag, and will probably go with a long. I'll trade a couple extra ounces for comfort/roominess; my current WM bag fits like a condom... What brands and models should I be looking at?
Posted By: kenaiking Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/22/14
What WM bag do you have now?

They make a few wider models in the 15�s like the Alpinlite (64�), Badger (66�) and the ponderosa (67�) which is a semi rectangular bag.
Posted By: outahere Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/22/14
The WM Badger is a nice, roomy bag.

I find it very comfortable down to 20F
Posted By: 30338 Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/22/14
I'm going Enlightened Equipment quilt for my next one.
Posted By: T_O_M Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/23/14
Go to WM's website and look into their semi-rectangular bags. I have 3 ... 40, 25, and 5 degree. Absolutely love them.

I tried one of their mummy bags, sort of what you describe, and it was not for me. The semi-rectangular bags are a whole different story.

Tom
Posted By: timat46 Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/23/14
+ 1 on the Badger
Posted By: duchntr Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/23/14
Feathered Friends or Western Mountaineering both great american brands.
Posted By: Higginez Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/24/14
Originally Posted by 30338
I'm going Enlightened Equipment quilt for my next one.

I am too. I really like my Montbell super stretch though. I usually use it like a quilt anyway.
Posted By: kcnboise Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/24/14
Thanks all for the recommendations! I'll probably go with Feathered Friends or Western Mountaineering. Where's the best place to buy, price-wise?

Posted By: Backroads Re: Need a New Sleeping Bag - 10/24/14
Loving my Enlightened Equipment Revelation, will never buy another mummy bag.