Home
Posted By: wy0ming Springfield XD - 12/17/20
What is the campfire consensus on the XD? There's some bad comments out there on the internet about the XD, but that's true for most pistols on the market. I know some people don't like the grip safety - are there any other common issues? I ask because I have seen a few for sale locally and the price is appealing. I don't want to buy a bad gun just because it's cheap, though.
Posted By: viking Re: Springfield XD - 12/17/20
I have limited experience with them, as I am a Glock fan. However, I once shot the XD and a G17 side by side. I shot the XD better.

I started with Glocks and stayed with them. They are modular to me. I got a lot of holsters and mag pouches...
Posted By: memtb Re: Springfield XD - 12/17/20

I’ve got the old original XDS in 45 ACP.... and love it. I’m also a big fan of the grip safety. It’s absolutely a non-issue in putting the gun into service! memtb
Posted By: kragman1 Re: Springfield XD - 12/17/20
I have the original and the mod 2, both duty sized .45's and I like them a lot.
I shoot them infrequently so I can't give you a "torture tested" opinion about their durability, but they shoot well.
Triggers are smooth if not crisp, the guns are accurate and I think that they point well.
Grip safety has never been any sort of issue for me or any other XD shooters I've met.

Ive never noticed much difference between the standard and the "M" versions, but I haven't shot an M either.
Posted By: cwh2 Re: Springfield XD - 12/18/20
I like them. Have an xd40, and xdms in 9 & 10 mm. I actually prefer the grip shape of the xd, but the xdm capacity and sights make up for it. People have broken magazine base plates, but mine have been good. I dont make a habit of dropping them in the rocks though.

They are not as popular as glocks so don't have the same aftermarket support, which is probably the biggest downside. I dont have anything against glocks, just prefer the xd. Try one, you might like it.