Home
Posted By: VAnimrod CCW/IWB and sciatica? - 03/26/09
I've been carrying IWB for quite a few years now.

Recently, I've been having moderate to severe flare-ups of my sciatic nerve on the same side as I carry.

After the last flare-up, I stopped carrying for a time. Yesterday, I carried IWB all day, and today the sciatic is acting up again.

Suggestions as to continue to carry, but not IWB, would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: VAnimrod Re: CCW/IWB and sciatica? - 03/26/09
BTW - ankle holsters are out. Hate'm.

Normal attire (Mon-Fri) is a suit and tie. Weekends and after work is jeans-T-shirt or Jeans-sweatshirt.

Preferred CCW is a BHP, but there are quite a few other horses in the stable.
Posted By: CrowRifle Re: CCW/IWB and sciatica? - 03/26/09
I am no MD but had the something similar happen to me when I was hunting out west a few years back. Carried a Blackhawk on my hip for 3 days and my back and hip were almost numb at the end of each day. I think it changed my stride or balance and I was trying to compensate with every step I took.

Can you reposition it or change sides for a few days?
Posted By: T LEE Re: CCW/IWB and sciatica? - 03/26/09
either move it forward a bit or go to a belt slide type and wear long enough shirts. You saw how I carry and where, no problems in some 40+ years.
Current IWB holsters are RH. Switching sides isn't feasible from that standpoint, thought I can/do shoot ambi.

However, if I switch sides, I'm concerned I'll just eventually start firing up the other sciatic. That, would not be good.
T;

I'll try moving it forward. Belt-slides don't conceal well enough. BT/DT.

If I could get away with OC, I would. However, current conditions don't permit that option.
Posted By: RufusG Re: CCW/IWB and sciatica? - 03/26/09
I guess my first attempt would be a lighter gun in the same familiar position. Go with aluminum or plastic and maybe less bullets and see if it causes the same aggravation.