Home
Posted By: aboltfan Handgun Hunting - 01/21/14
I've been hunting our new lease in South Miss. Several of our plots are less than 50 yards long and not as wide. While sitting in the blinds I've been thinking a handgun would be an ideal weapon to be hunting with.

I've got plenty of experience with handguns in the duty/cc context. I've not hunted much with one. So here is my question to those of you with experience in handgun hunting. Would you be satisfied using a .357 mag. at the above ranges or would you step up in caliber? Keep in mind this will be for southern deer hunting and the occasional hog.

Along with caliber feel free to share what bullets have been most dependable.
Posted By: chlinstructor Re: Handgun Hunting - 01/21/14
Ruger Super BlackHawk Hunter in 44 mag. Or if your lucky enough to find one, in .41 mag. Either one of those calibers will easily kill deer or hogs with regular old Factory Ammo.

A .357 mag will no doubt kill deer. Hell, ive killed them with my Glock in .357 Sig Caliber. But that was with optimum conditions, and a perfect shot at 20 yards.
But if you want to stretch your shots out to 100 yards, I think you'd be better served with a .41 or .44 mag. JMHO. Though.
Posted By: lastround Re: Handgun Hunting - 01/21/14
A properly loaded 357 mag will work at the ranges you suggest. A 41 or 44 mag will work better if you can shoot them well.
Posted By: bea175 Re: Handgun Hunting - 01/21/14
I personally would feel comfortable with the 357 Magnum for 50 yards and under , in a handgun bigger is usually better for hunting . I will probably use my Glock 20 in 10 mm on the Boar Hunt this Spring with the Hornady 200 XTP loaded with Hod Longshot in Starline Brass
Posted By: aboltfan Re: Handgun Hunting - 01/21/14