Home
I needed this like a need another 4-wheel drive truck with a V-8 in the driveway but I just couldn't resist!
It called my name darn it! I had to!
Brought home a tang-safety Ruger 77 in 7X57 caliber.
Serial number has it being made in 1982 and the overall condition is close to 95%.
It came with what look to be Ruger medium or High rings and the barrel is slick.
I have a .280 Mtn Rifle and a .257 Mtn Rifle so this one really doesn't fill a need. When I start reloading this year I have a decent selection of 7MM bullets for the .280 and figure I could use some with the 7X57.
What's a good factory load to try?
What bullet weights work well for deer?
What's your favorite handload for this caliber?
I know many here and elsewhere have spoken highly of this caliber and it's capabilities so this was a deciding factor in me wanting to give it a try.
I'll try to post some pictures later.
Thanks!
WFR

I am just getting into the 7X57 myself, but depending on throat length, I have been using 160 gr Sierra BTSP with good results. I have yet to shoot any game with it, tho....
160 gr sounds big! Will it stabilize the 139gr Hornady rounds and the Speer 140's?
47grs H4350 and 154gr Hornady.

49grs H4350 and 140gr Nosler Partition.

It shoots a 7mm bullet at decent velocity, as such it will kill about like any other 7mm shooting a 7mm bullet.
P.S. What bullets work good on deer for you from your 280? The same will work good on deer from your 7x57.
Originally Posted by Steelhead
P.S. What bullets work good on deer for you from your 280? The same will work good on deer from your 7x57.

This is why I was hoping I could use the Hornady 139gr.
What kind of game have you used the 7X57 to take?
I'm thinking a Leupold VXII 2-7X33 will work fine for the distances I will be using it.
You might have a long throat in the early 80's model. It might shoot the longer bullets better.
With the 139 Hornady, I'd go H-4350 with around 48-50 grains.