Home
Posted By: Landkiller Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14
I have a chance to buy a Browning 7mm Rem Mag with the boss. Who hunts with one? Pros/cons opinions appreciated. I have no experience with this system at all. Thanks!
Posted By: 8SNAKE Re: Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14
I will firmly be in the minority here, but I really like mine. The BOSS reduces recoil quite a bit and tunes to the load you want to shoot, exactly as advertised. Mine will shoot an honest 1/2" with factory ammo (it really likes Core-Lokt; go figure). The down side, of course, is the noise. They are LOUD.

Mine is a .300 Win Mag in an A-bolt Stainless Stalker.
Posted By: 8SNAKE Re: Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14
Forgot to add that I've hunted this rifle for more than a decade with absolutely zero issues. 99% of that hunting is Missouri whitetails, so it's not exactly what I'd call strenuous conditions for a rifle. Just the same, that rifle has never let me down.
Posted By: 7x57STEVE Re: Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14
Landkiller,

I have a LH 7-08 Browning with the BOSS, and do not like it at all. Of course the 7-08 does not have the kind of recoil a 300 Win Mad would have, but the painful noise of firing it without hearing protection was a no-go for me.

I contacted Browning about it, and they sent me a BOSS that did not have any openings in it, so I could still tune it up, and not get my ears blown off. It is not very attractive(looks like a garden hose nozzle)and it does work somewhat, but I have a number of rifles without it that are more accurate.

Hope this helps. YMMV.

Steve
Posted By: GRF Re: Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14
I had one in 7 rem mag, switched to the none ported version. Works as advertised but tended to make you a one load shooter, not a problem if you are happy with that. They are rather un attractive in mt opinion.

I have since sold the rifle.
Posted By: Hondo64d Re: Browning Boss ? - 07/27/14