Home
Looking for some valued opinions. I am looking for a semi-custom rifle that can handle all of my lower 48 needs. I currently use a savage 300 win mag with a 5 x 20 Trijicon accu point. I am considering a 26 Nosler. The majority of my shots are under 300 yards, but occasionally the opportunity to 500+ presents itself. I hunt whitetail, muleys, elk and black bear. Would this be effective for all of them? I appreciate your input.
Yes
Sure it will work great but so will your 300 Win Mag, nothing wrong with wanting to change things up. Lots of rounds will work out to 300 yards (and beyond) but the 26 Nosler will shine as you get farther out. There are many 6.5 mm bullets available that will work on all those game animals, ones that come to mind quickly are the 140 gr Partition and Accubond, 130 gr Scirocco (my favorite bullet in the 264 Win Mag) and any of the monolithic 120-130 gr bullets like the Hornady GMX, Barnes TTSX and Nosler E Tip.
I'm a bit of a novice, but would the 26 be too fast for a whitetail at 100 yds? I shoot 168 gr btsp interlocks and it went through a doe so fast the exit wound was barely larger than the entry wound. No blood trail whatsoever, just a few chunks of lung on the grass behind her. She piled up a 150 yds away.
There is no way a bullet can go so fast it doesn't have time to expand, it is one of those myths that just isn't true. The bullet you mention on the deer is it a target bullet? I'm not sure if Hornady makes a 168 gr Interlock, they do make a 165 gr though. If you did use their target bullet that may have been why it didn't perform that great.
Originally Posted by Scopebite65
... Would this be effective for all of them? I appreciate your input.

Nosler says so smile
The 28 might be better
To my eye, the 30-06, .270, .280 are excellent all around BG cartridges, and are not as stupidly expensive to shoot or load for.

Brass cost is outrageous.

Using Midway as an example: