Home

I have been using a Lee 3 hole turret press for several years for all my reloading and it has worked very well. Now I have decided I want to try to make the most accurate reloads I can. There is a little bit of play in the Lee press turrets due to the way they just slide into place. I would like to stay with a turret style press and have been looking at the Redding T-7 to replace the Lee. Would I be wasting money buying competition style dies shell holders ect trying to make the straightest reloads I can with the Lee press? Would the T-7 be a big improvement or should I buy something more like a Forester Co-Ax press and forget the turret presses alltogether.
I have both a Redding T-7 and Co-Ax presses. The T-7 has a reinforcement tower in back that opposes the ram side that helps it to stay in line. I also like that it has a lot of room around the press ram and that makes it easy to work with right or left handed. I tend to prefer it more for pistol rounds etc. that require 3 or 4 die sets. With pistol rounds I also find it convenient that you don't have to lower the ram all the way before pulling the case out of the shellholder - this can save time with pistol or shorter rounds.

The Co-Ax press doesn't have the clearance on the sides that the T-7 does but does tend to load with less runout than other presses I've tried. I prefer using the Forster lock rings and they can add up a bit if you have a lot of dies. IMHO they are well worth it and the quick die change makes it just about as fast moving between dies as does the turret press. The shellplate is great for most rounds and it further speeds up things not having to change shell holders more most rounds. I did find that it didn't work well with 338 Lapua and 7.62x54R cases even with the larger shell plate.