Home
A friend of mine has started using a battery powered pump to air cool his rifle barrel so he could complete shooting groups without overheating the barrel. He uses one of the pumps used to inflate air mattresses and the pump does cool the barrel rather quickly. The cooling is done from inside out but I don't have the knowledge to know if this could cause a problem. What do you think, JB?
Some guys use water, ice, dry ice, so i dont see pumped air as any problem, but im not an expert....
I'm not JB, but I once had delusions of getting filthy rich from sales of a battery-operated, air-pump, barrel-cooling device of my invention. I made a couple of test units, bought a high-$ infrared thermometer, and proceeded to perform lengthy tests on a rifle (Win Model 94) under controlled conditions. As a comparison and to gauge the efficiency of my little cooling device, I also did the same tests using my normal barrel cooling method of opening the action/bolt, placing the rifle in a vertical position and letting Mother Nature's chimney effect cool the barrel.

The results: no to almost no difference between the two methods.

The conclusion: Mother Nature's method was free and worked just as well.

So if you want to cool your barrel, don't lay it horizontally across the top of the shooting bench. Open the bolt and lean the rifle in a vertical position in a semi-open place where the wind can blow away the warm air rising from the muzzle due to the chimney effect.

A word of warning: I tried cool air, i.e., I ran the cooling tube through an ice chest containing ice. The result: water dripping out of the rifle's chamber due to condensation caused by chilled air hitting the warm barrel interior.