Home
Posted By: SamOlson Weight variance in brass? - 10/03/15
Last Spring I ordered 2 boxes of 'fancy' Nosler brass for a new 270 Winchester.

Brass showed up and luckily both boxes had matching lot #'s.

Month passes and I ordered more bullets and decide to get another box of the brass.

Different lot # this time(of course).

Load it up with the same charge as I had been using and fire away.

Now it's summer time, hot outside, and I'm getting pancaked primers and the accuracy isn't as good. Blame the temps, barrel heat, etc., and forget about it until it cools back down.

Re-test my proven load in cooler weather and get random flyers and pancaked primers on certain shots.

WTF?

Took about a minute to remember that I bought a third box.

Hmmm, the ol' light bulb is starting to warm-up...

Weigh the pancaked primer brass, 215 grains.
(edited, actually weighs 207...)

Weigh the original brass(nice round primers), 185 grains.

I'm far from a reloading expert but that seems like a lot of variance?

SWEET JESUS, that is a HUGE difference in weight. How the hell can that be.

I'd be on the horn with Nosler RTF now.
Posted By: SamOlson Re: Weight variance in brass? - 10/03/15
Well I thought it was a big difference as well but honestly haven't weighed enough brass to really know.

Last time I weighed brass was 2-3 years ago when I switched from Remington brass to Lapua(243 Win).

The Lapua was heavier(can't remember how much) so I re-worked up the charge.

I was obviously pissed about the Nosler deal and just tossed the 50 pieces in the garbage can. Of course I had to weigh 150 pieces of brass to be sure I found them all.
Posted By: EZEARL Re: Weight variance in brass? - 10/03/15
Just for the heck of it why not cut one of each in half length wise and compare the thickness difference. That's a lot of weight difference. Nosler should be told about it. Might even get you some free brass.
Posted By: BC30cal Re: Weight variance in brass? - 10/03/15
Sam;