Home
Posted By: The_Real_Hawkeye Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
I've been enjoying them the same way for thirty years or more. Lately I've been making it a regular again, buying them every week at the grocery store.

I saute the caps in butter for five minutes on each side, and serve them along with a small dipping-sauce-bowl of balsamic vinegar. So good. I dip each fork sized piece completely in the vinegar to get complete coverage.
Posted By: Gus Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
sounds good. i usually just chop them up and stir fry with sweet peppers and vidalia onions, using olive oil and/or butter.

do s-h-i-t-a-k-e mushrooms the same way. i'm not a big fan of the pure white ones but will add them to beef stews.
Posted By: RickyBobby Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
I like to pull the stems and fill the cap with a mixture of cream cheese, green onions, and shredded cheese. Lightly dust them with a good BBQ seasoning and toss direct on my BGE. Yum!
Posted By: BOWHUNR Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
Just had some baby bellas last night. I sliced them, saute'd them in butter with some garlic and onion, then served them on the side of a dry aged rib-eye. Tough to beat bella's served with steak!

Mike
Posted By: local_dirt Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
Mike, that's my favorite way unless I stuff them. grin
Posted By: EdM Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
I fry one in olive oil, pull, salt, pepper and Asiago cheese then throw it in a crusty French roll.
Posted By: byc Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/24/16
I prefer grilling!

Darn near like a steak.

When sauteed I use butter, sea salt and a wheat bourbon!!
Posted By: Raeford Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/27/16
Bourbon??
Really?
grin
Posted By: byc Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/28/16
absolutely!!! My Mother taught me that.

Damned great combo with a giant steak!
Posted By: 284LUVR Re: Portobello Mushrooms - 09/28/16
Drink the bourbon or a bourbon base marinade ?