Home
I have a Ruger Mark II chambered in 300RSAUM that is an absolute pig when it comes to the walnut stock. What a big fat piece of walnut. When I compare it to the svelte fore end of a Remington M700 CDL I just shake my head. Why does Ruger have to make them so porky? Anyway, need your advice... i have this wild hair to glass bed the stock (I have never done this before), slap a bipod on it, and traipse out to the long distance range at Quantico to see how I can hang with my 6.5 Creedmoor buddies. I know, no contest, but this is more about seeing what I can actually accomplish with this pig. I figure I will just push a 150 BT as fast as it can go and see what happens... I should be able to hit paper at least out to 500 yards (lol). No turrets on the scope... it is sporting s 3-9x40 Vortex, so this is going to be an exercise in reading the wind and guessing on elevation.

All of mine are bedded and floated
My 2 cents....

If the rifle shoot shot well don't mess with it. I only bed if I am chasing accurac but only after many other issues are ruled out.
Sounds like you hate it. Wouldn't waste the time if your just going to see what it will do...

W
i don't hate any of my rifles, and tend to become sappy and sentimental about them. But the stock is a pig. I figure the bipod will cause all sorts of craziness on the fore end if it ain't bedded or free floated...?

Restock it with a new hawkeye syntheic or spring for a McMillan
One of the changes Ruger made to the MKII with the Hawkeye was to slim down the stock. If you want a slim wood stock, just order a Hawkeye stock to replace it from Ruger. I'm sure they also sell synthetics as well. Or you could go aftermarket. I have a MKII myself and have considered replacing with a Hawkeye stock.
Originally Posted by Bearcat74

All of mine are bedded and floated

Same here
Originally Posted by Dogger