Home
Posted By: lone wolf Defiance or Borden Action - 02/18/13
I'm building a 300 Win Mag and looking at these two Actions. Which one do like better and why. Going to be deer and elk hunting rifle.
Well,
I would buy a Borden. Jim is an engineer, been in the Benchrest and hunting World for a long time. He makes receivers that are smooth, triggers are timed, and quality is great. I will not throw rocks at the Defiance as I have no experience with them. Borden's receivers are the best feeding mags, SAUM, and WSM receivers.
Posted By: dave7mm Re: Defiance or Borden Action - 02/19/13
I have both.
I like the Defiance better, just because.

dave
I just received a Defiance rebel this week
So I hope it's a nice one

[Linked Image]
Posted By: MSK07 Re: Defiance or Borden Action - 02/19/13
Defiance actions are gorgeous. I wish I had an endless supply to build on.

But with respect to function, it's hard to imagine that Borden, Defiance, Stiller, etc., would really have a meaningful difference.
I've sure liked my Borden, I've only fondled the Defiance a couple times and sure could like one. If I am lucky enough to build another custom, I may go Bighorn though.
[Linked Image]
Nice rig. keep them coming.
Posted By: JBO69 Re: Defiance or Borden Action - 02/19/13
I have both, like both and would recommend both. If you want a lighter build then go with the Borden action including the Jewel trigger. If you want more of a tactical look then get the Defiance with rail.
fwiw,
I've owned a Custom .300 WM built on a Defiance Action. Actually a GA Precision Templar rebadge but still a Defiance. Loved everything about the rifle except my last minute decision to stick a Badger Ordnance Magazine System under it. Turned near perfection into a fancy SMLE. You could not pick it up unless you went forward of the magazine. Some love them, however, I hate it. If you want an AI Magazine buy an AW or an AX. I have both.

You might also think about a BAT Tactical Action. No flies on those either...