Home
Posted By: VinceM John Lloyd Slipjoints - 03/20/14
John Lloyd, a retired contractor,resides in Missouri. A great friend. His retirement therapy is making slipjoint folders. Self taught,his work constantly improves.
He hollow grinds,and uses both ss & carbon steels.
John has an extensive handle material collection ,and loves to use various natural materials,and vintage synthetics as well.

I'll pop in time to time to show some knives. I hope you like them

This was a recent build,a bolsterless "shadow" , India Sambar stag, very high grade,I'm thinking the scales on this knife were cut off a roll . With good quality Sambar these days , it is hard to come by and most often if you see it with texture like this,it has been hand cut off of a roll.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Posted By: VinceM Re: John Lloyd Slipjoints - 03/20/14
Jack knife with Stellar's Sea Cow bone
[Linked Image]

"Basket Weave" Carbon Fiber
[Linked Image]

Hand jigged bone
[Linked Image]
This one is water buffalo horn,but from the crown,or the bark,with the natural texture
[Linked Image]

Mahogany dyed Sambar stag
[Linked Image]
smooth buffalo horn
[Linked Image]

Green dyed buckeye burl
[Linked Image]

More Sambar
[Linked Image]
Ironwood from Baja Mexico
[Linked Image]

More stag,this is rare here
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Westinghouse Ivory paper micarta,double fish
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
cactus slim
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Sambar
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Red/black micarta
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Amber stag

[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c150/VCM3/John%20Lloyd/DSCN7646_zpsee7f64ae.jpg[/img]

Blue mammoth
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c150/VCM3/John%20Lloyd/DSCN6729_zpsb18f6163.jpg[/img]
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c150/VCM3/John%20Lloyd/DSCN6732_zps7e8019b6.jpg[/img]
Posted By: DaleAtkerson Re: John Lloyd Slipjoints - 03/20/14
Wicked
ram horn
[Linked Image]

look at this blue / black mammoth