Home
Posted By: ScottM 17 Remington AR-15 - 05/24/09
I've read many of you have uppers in 17 Rem. How do you like them and what specs, make, etc...

I have the 223 and 204 covered. Thinking about trying the 17. Leaning toward White Oak though I have no experience with them yet.

Thanks, Scott

ps. no surprise but strictly for varmints.
Posted By: TWR Re: 17 Remington AR-15 - 05/24/09
I have leaned that direction many times but have not built one yet. My cousin has one that was built by Accuracy Systems that is accurate and reliable so far. I wouldn't hesitate calling WOA either.

It's fun to shoot as you can watch the impact through the scope pretty easy. The 17 Remington is quite a caliber with those who swear it kills like lightening from above and then others who swear at it. (speaking of coyote sized critters) Bullet selection is the key and we have better choices available now.

The downside for me at least is brass is higher and I tend to lose brass from an AR in hunting situations. I suppose a brass catcher would solve that but it ain't happening on my guns.
Posted By: ScottM Re: 17 Remington AR-15 - 05/25/09
Good points. I was thinking about how cool of a squirrel rig that would be. Most of the time I do find my brass but you're right, losing a 17 would be worse than a 223. I wonder what length would be best. I'm thinking 20" with a fairly heavy barrel. What would a guy expect to pay for that? Any ideas?
Posted By: timmy0283 Re: 17 Remington AR-15 - 05/25/09
I have an AR in 17 Rem. it has a 24 inch fluted Bull barrel. It is a pretty neat little round. Mike Milli at Dtech made it. I have a DPMS lower on it with a 2-stage Jewell trigger.

P.S. Where do you live in Idaho? I grew up in Council.
Posted By: ScottM Re: 17 Remington AR-15 - 05/25/09
Tim, I'm in southeast Idaho near Pocatello. Rock chuck heaven. Went this morning and sure could have run a 17 AR through its paces. I think I'm going to have to get this project going.