Home
Posted By: Odessa Black Cloud II (Improved)? - 12/22/17
Just ordered a case of 12 GA, 3" 1-1/4 oz. Federal Black Cloud FS steel (redesigned) from Rogers. Appears Federal has made the wad flexible for use in all types of choketubes. Anyone shoot these improved shells yet? I only have one box of the old ones left - hope the new ones work as well.
Posted By: byd Re: Black Cloud II (Improved)? - 12/22/17
So you can shoot the new Black Cloud with a ported choke .
Yes, they are supposed to be usable in any type of choke. Haven't used any myself.
I have been shooting Winchester Blind Sides for several years with much success. One of my duck hunting buddies tried some Black Clouds last year and he was very impressed. I guess he killed a cripple at an extended range that his Blind Sides were just ruffling the feathers on. I think I will give some Black Clouds a try this year.
I patterned at least 8 different loads from Federal, Winchester, Remmy for ducks...

Black cloud di the best so that’s what I shoot - I have a SBE

I haven’t tried the new stuff yet,
I'm very interested in the results of the new Blackclouds also. Still shooting the old ones. Sooner or later I'll be out.
Never cared for back cloud, but tried a box of hevi x yesterday was killed a black duck stone dead at a range i should have been using a rifle at
Posted By: Esox357 Re: Black Cloud II (Improved)? - 01/03/18
I have black cloud and Hevi Shot but haven't used the hevi shot yet. Black Cloud is mixed for me. I've taken limited number of waterfowl being this is the first real year I actually am hunting for waterfowl. Managed 2 geese, 2 mallards, and 1 teal thus far.
I still have half a case of the old shells, but went and bought two boxes of the new. I'm going on a three day goose hunt in Kansas starting Saturday . I will get back with my result and opinion.
Posted By: Odessa Re: Black Cloud II (Improved)? - 01/04/18
Originally Posted by louiethedrifter