Home
I've taken note of a couple of popular cop shows that appear to be filmed in Canada. Rookie Blue and Flashpoint, I could be wrong but the emblems and uniform styles look Canadian to me. Of course I'm not an expert at anything Canadian, but one thing that jumped out at me was that cops in these shows don't wear badges. I wondered about this and I googled several Canadian police organizations and just browsed the pictures and didn't see anyone wearing a badge. The pictures of RCMP mounties are also without badges. So apparently cops don't need no stinking badges in Canada as they have traditionally been used and in many instances required in the US. So can anyone enlighten me on this socialogical phenom or are my observations wrong. CH
You are right, we dont wear our badges on our uniforms. I cant think of any police agency here that does.
But they do wear handguns.
A lot of forces carry badges in a walet that also carries the warrent card. I would think the uniform, the cruiser and the verbal identification would give the officer's occupation away. If asked for identification the officer will oblige.

In general terms we as a citizenry respect and support our police services.

Randy
What cabbage leaf were you hatched under, Brother? grin Bet you I could recount more than a few instance where the converse was just as true. wink

But generally, Randy is right. Off duty and plain clothes, a badge is a real necessity for identification and more than the badge is the warrant card, authorizing the officer to do certain things. I always carried it even while in uniform, and was asked for it once by a distraught mental patient who wouldn't go with the officers in uniform without a badge. I "tinned" him, and a stressful situation was laid to rest.

I think the badge was instituted to identify LEO's before they wore uniforms, and it just kind of stuck south of the 49th, but not up here.
chickasaw hunter;