Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
T
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
This might stir the pot a bit but.....
Why do I as a Canadian require the services of an Outfitter/Guide to hunt in my own country? Here in Alberta as a resident I can hunt any legal species of game yet travel to another province and all of a sudden I am not qualified to hunt on my own. A deer is a deer, a moose is a moose, an elk is an elk etc.
Move to another province and I am a resident qualified to hunt there after a few months. Other than economics, is there a good reason why this is so?
Just seems to me, if I am born a Canadian then I should be able to hunt/fish as a Canadian.
What say the "Fire?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
troutfly;
OK, now you�ve done it! wink

Until 9/11, it was less hassle for folks in BC to go down to Wyoming or Montana to chase pronghorn than to hunt next door in Alberta. That from folks who tried or did both, not personal experience.

I think I can now go back to the farm in Saskabush and chase whitetails without a guide, but I don�t believe I can chase mule deer with my nephew around Moose Jaw even if he�d guide me.

Frankly I can�t think of a logical reason that these rules are in place other than they were put in place at the behest of the guide/outfitting industry.

If you�ve followed any of the guide/outfitter vs. resident �discussions� that take place here on this side of the hills, you know it�s a hot topic. If you go onto the HuntingBC site sometime when it comes up it makes the Campfire seem downright polite and sedate! shocked

I could see having a guide maybe for �wilderness areas� or for grizzled bears where the neophyte can get beaten on I guess, but that would presuppose one born and raised in downtown Vancouver is better equipped to deal with bears than an Albertan from a ranch near, lets say Edson for the sake of argument. crazy