Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 ... 20 21 >
Topic Options
#53260 - 02/23/02 04:56 PM LONG RANGE???
7mmbuster Offline
Campfire Guide

Loc: Alum Bank, PA, U.S.A.
Heard from a guy on another forum about shooting deer at long range. Now, I'm thinking 400 yards. NO! 500? Hah! He's talking over 750 yards! This is a sport?!

When did deer become a bullseye on an oversize benchrest range? For crying out loud. If you got these sniper fantasies, then join the freaking military!

The idea of hunting is to get as close as you can, not shoot from the next county. You try to be a part of the environment, you blend in. YOU BELONG THERE. Deer are a precious natural resource, and deserve to be treated with care and respect.

I've been hunting for over 25 years, and in that time, I've lost two. Both times, it took a few days for the sick feeling in the pit of my stomach to pass. I just felt horrible because I knew those deer would suffer a lingering death. If you don't get that same feeling on loosing one, do me and the deer a favor and shoot paper.
7mm
"Preserving the Constitution, fighting off the nibblers and chippers, even nibblers and chippers with good intentions, was once regarded by conservatives as the first duty of the citizen. It still is." Wesley Pruden

#53261 - 02/23/02 05:12 PM Re: LONG RANGE???
Boggy Creek Ranger Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Loc: Leon County Texas